Since expenses had increased 14% in five years and an aging building needed repairs, the Board instituted the first of its annual fund drives in 1951 with a goal of raising $10,000. The next year, $15,000 was sought to help cover expenditures of $84,000, which included $10,000 for capital improvements alone. The wardrobe budget (including haircuts, shoe repair, and dry cleaning) was kept to $42.71 per child, thanks to clothing donations, volunteer efforts to make and mend clothes, and girls who funded their own clothing through earnings from summer employment. Throughout the year local barbers came to the home and cut the children’s hair at no cost to the home. Mrs. Charles A. Butts, the manager for the fundraising campaign, explained how the barbers made “a party” out of the experience, and that the children “never enjoyed haircutting more.” In addition, the Knights Templar visited the home during the holiday season with gifts for the children. These acts of philanthropy were honored during the annual Children’s Home Christmas party which featured Dominic Cavaliero and his orchestra’s musical performance.
Caseworker services of a staff social worker enabled the Home to accept emotionally disturbed children in 1952. Since social agencies favored sending preschool children to foster care, the Home served girls aged 5 to 16, or through high school, and boys aged 5 to 13, although it also operated a daycare center for younger children for three years. In 1954, Miss Garrison married Austin Race, resigned, and Frank Bartholomew became the new director.